Divine Comedy


My first grandchild KJ was a wonder to me.  I prayed for him in church one Sunday.  Sitting halfway the pews , I asked God to Bless my children, to let me live to see them grow up.  They were about 8, 10 and 12 at the time. 

God always gives you over exceedingly above all, we  could ask or think on April 24, 2003 gave me the most beautiful grandchild I could ever ask for.  I took him for his first visit outside and he would stick his head out of the blankets to look all around him at the world of birds chirping and the Carolina blue sky.  I gave him his first tickle and he smiled for the first time for me.  Oh what a privilege!

Not having had a baby in the house for nearly 20 years, I was taken aback at all the bottles, diapers, and whatall associated with having a baby in the house.  When ever he stayed with me, he was keep pristine, –I cannot say the same for my home.

When he cam into his terrible twos, I decided to take him down to my moms where he could see the baby chicks, eat grapes from off the grape vine and run around a big yard with the family dog, bear.

At times though my precious child knowing that his grandmother was drastically out of her area and that he truly had the upper hand when it came to his own child rearing he took total advantage of the situation that entire weekend.

He whined, yelled, sulked, threw tantrums and invariably kept me running as if I was Edith Bunker and Archie had just come home and someone had been sitting in his chair.

When my precious little boy left that afternoon, I was uprighting chairs and scraping something indescribable off the walls when my mother came to the steps and said, “honey, there’s someone on the phone for you”  I whirled Tasmanian devil style (bottom twisting, head staying still) and yelled, MOMA CAN’T YOU SEE I’M CLEANING UUUUPPPPP!!!!!!!!!

–thanks for reading

-poppishirley (c)

Leave a Reply

