WHAT IS IT LIKE TO BE BLACK IN AMERICA?


DOWN BY LAW

 Mr. President, it is natural to man to indulge in the illusions of hope. We are apt to shut our eyes against a painful truth, and listen to the song of that siren till she transforms us into beasts. Is this the part of wise men, engaged in a great and arduous struggle for liberty? Are we disposed to be of the number of those who, having eyes, see not, and, having ears, hear not, the things which so nearly concern their temporal salvation? For my part, whatever anguish of spirit it may cost, I am willing to know the whole truth; to know the worst, and to provide for it.

from -Patrick Henry’s Speech:  Give Me Liberty or Give Me Death.

 Late Breaking News:  Barack and Michele Obama Caught Stealing Chickens!  Again!.

Like Patrick Henry, I fear I will be “dead last”  long before “Liberality” will be “provided for” in America.

Never before, since the first slave reached southern shore, have I seen such “commotions and goings on” over black folks since Eudora was swatting at a fly, missed and knocked down the whole glass shelving containing grandma’s”knickknack”collection and display of porcelain chickens!  Then as it is now some “feathers” got ruffled, needless to say.

 Late Breaking News:  Our Planet is in Peril! Karl Rove Refuses to Testify, Nelson Mandela is placed on the “Terrorists List” and Britney Spears don’t wear no underwear! -stay tuned.

 

It is as though both God AND Nature has turned their backs on us. 

 

As a 51 year old woman, who happens to be Black, in America, and un-like Michele Obama, I have ALWAYS been ashamed of “my” country. It has become what my mama taught me, never to be—Bad Company—

Like the War in Iraq.  –know when to leave!

 

To the rest of the world our America has –worn out it’s welcome –, bad company indeed.  It’s Time to call them all home before the street lights comes on.

But, for goodness sake don’t go quoting me, after all, I AM “bitter” and righteously so.

 

I am of a generation (unlike my mother’s) that has grown weaker in spirit and strength.   

How many times do we have to keep marching repeatedly over that SAME damn (sorry ma) Edmund Pettis Bridge?

Burning ash and the smell of smoke still fill the wide nostrils of black folks in Detroit, LA, DC, and Baltimore.  James Brown, Bo Didley, and great-great-great granddaddy ‘done died”.

 (Black Men Built the Capital) and we are still (as Bo said) left holding the knob!

The sprit of sadness  of the death of

Emitt Till. Today showed “markedely” on the face of our “native son” and “brother” (Christian church talk) Obama, when queried (boy, why ain’t you in jail?) er, uh, about the cover of New Yorker magazine.  Attempting  to explain the “sins of the fathers”, “Jesus” and how come blacks can ‘jump so high like that’  in one ‘blip’, one ‘flicker’, one sound byte:

One moment in History.

 

 

Oops!  Was my microphone still on?

 

My Audacity of Hope  is that my grandchildren will never have to come  home from grade school

and ask,with heavy heart and bended head,  “Mama why do white people hate us?

I do not know whether I will be able to answer (like my mama) with “Just Cause” honey. I did not understand then –A Racist America-I do not understand it now. 

My reason for living, knowing, and teaching my own grandchild is so that they can be like the Joshua and Calebs of their day, and refuse to accept the answer: – –There are Giants in the Land—

The  general media has reported America will not, -go there-

 

“Just Cause We’re Black Honey”  To Bee or not to Bee.

 

Like the Children of Israel, on their 40 day/40 night’s  (400 yrs Black In America)  journey, wandering in the wilderness,

America, having eyes, not see, having ears not hear, refuses  the clarion call of  freedom and

Never reach that “ Land of Freedom Flowing with Milk and Honey”.  Llike the Children of Israel, myself, and a whole lotta “ignorant southern white folks” are gonna have to die off, before my grandsons (the Joshuas and Calebs of OUR day) are able to benefit FROM THAT  freedom.

 

Shhhhh-ugar!  It’s enough to make me wanna holla, throw up both my hands, grow an Afro, burn the American flag and take up a machine gun! –did I say that out loud-?

 

Personally, I prefer “Dark Meat”.  Is that racist?

 

You go tell Barack (Husein) and  Michele Obama (feel free! To tell them “poppishirley”said,

 George W. Bush’s’ time and attention paid to things, Ain’t long”,

 

Tell them that they, do not have to “steal no mo’ chickens”.and Like Oprah, my mama OWNS  HER OWN chickens, cooks a big (family) dinner most Sundays and  there’s always “still  room at the table” for one more and they are welcome (here).

 You go tell “them” whoever “they” may be that:

Black folks in America have survived:

Lou Dobbs (Independently) “pukn’ through new teeth” upon hearing the words ofRev. Jeremiah Wright.  Moreover, we survived, Wars in Africa, and Vietnam,  the Middle Passage, Slavery, Rape, Torture, being chained, fed slop (no chickens!) bits placed in our mouths,

miscegenation, hunted, lynching, murder, the Underground Railroad,

The Civil War, post-slavery, the “exodus” from the south, the reign of Walter Plecker, The Virginia Act to Preserve Racial Integrity of 1924, the KKK, Jim Crow, The Civil Rights Movement, “The Birth of a Nation”,  the 9 most racist Disney Characters, and

 “Whites only” drinking fountains and peeing in the bushes at train stops.

Endured miles of marches, having fire hoses turned on us, dogs loosed on us, the “claps” injected in us, , Jesse Helms, George Wallace’s axe handle, the birth of Strom Thurman’s black child, Congressman Steve King, Barack’s endorsement by the KKK, segregation, desegregation, busing, The Deaths of Nat Turner, Nat King Cole, Sam Cooke, Otis Redding, Buddy Holly and the “Big Bopper”, Frederick Douglas, Du’Bois, Booker T. Washington, and Stepinfecit, Mahalia Jackson and Moms Mabley.  We have survived: O. .J. Simpson, Al Sharpton, Imus’ nappy headed ho’, Fox’s (un) fair (un) balanced “thinker”, Glen Beck, Rush Lumbagh, the killing field, the learning tree, Strange Fruit, the import of drugs, marketing booze to blacks, “straightening our hair, “steaming” our hair, skin “lightening creams, , “ashy elbows and knees”, weaves,

 Hailing cabs at night in NYC, unjust practices in Employment, Housing and Education,

 the Back Panther parties’ free breakfast program being called “the Greatest Danger to Democracy”, slumlords, ghettos, the “projects”, drive-by shootings, the incarceration of a nation, Enron, Dick Cheney’s gun, Wall Street’s Fear of Obama, And my roommates gravy.

 (will Somebode pleeez turn that thang off!)

I believe we can we can survive one little ol -cartoon-

 All I need is a lil’ Shoutin’ Ground

Hold My Mule! 

It is in vain, sir, to extenuate the matter. Gentlemen may cry, Peace, Peace– but there is no peace. The war is actually begun! The next gale that sweeps from the north will bring to our ears the clash of resounding arms! Our brethren are already in the field! Why stand we here idle? What is it that gentlemen wish? What would they have? Is life so dear, or peace so sweet, as to be purchased at the price of chains and slavery? Forbid it, Almighty God! I know not what course others may take; but as for me, give me liberty or give me death!

   -P. Henry

 

-Dea Gawd,  u there?still here, signed –“

-poppishirley 

 

thanks for reading!

to: my childen and  grandchildren, who happen to be black-

Langston Hughes-
 goin’, honey, I’se still climbin’, And life for me ain’t been no crystal stair.Well, son, I’ll tell you: Life for me ain’t been no crystal stair. It’s had tacks in it, And splinters, And boards torn up, And places with no carpet on the floor— Bare. But all the time I’se been a-climbin’ on, And reachin’ landin’s, And turnin’ corners, And sometimes goin’ in the dark Where there ain’t been no light. So, boy, don’t you turn back. Don’t you set down on the steps. ‘Cause you finds it’s kinder hard. Don’t you fall now— For I’se still

 

Leave a Reply

